Tags

, , , , ,

It is a shame we live such short lives; for some of us, anyway.  Many people, like myself, if given a thousand years to live would spend it learning about everything they could.  I would like to learn astronomy, geology, oceanography, psychology, pathology, archeology, and many other ologies.  One of the most interesting ology is biology; human biology.

Don’t ask me why this question came to mind; it just did.  How many cells are in the human body?  There is no definite answer, and the number of cells vary between us for reasons as simple as size.

Some authorities say the human body is comprised of 50 million million (50 trillion) cells, while other sources say there are approximately 10 to the 14th power (100 trillion) cells in the human body. That is 100,000,000,000,000!

There is no way to know exactly how many cells there are, but I am sure we all know someone who doesn’t use even 10% of the brains cells they have, eh?

“It has been estimated that the adult brain has around one hundred billion neurons and an even larger number of glial cells“, according to one source on wiki.answers.com.  I know, I know.  What are glial cells and what do they do?  The answer can be found if you follow the link below:

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=the-root-of-thought-what

I wouldn’t want to be tasked with counting all of them, I can assure you of that!  LOL!

Absolutely Mind Boggling!

