Tags

, , , , , ,

I was so frustrated with my laptop I was about to throw it out the Window(s). LOL!  I would get an error message on one site after another saying Shockwave had crashed. Also known as Adobe Flash Player. Frustrating!

Has that happened to you?

I uninstalled Adobe Flash Player then re-installed it. I uninstalled Chrome then re-installed it. I ran a program (CCleaner) to check the registry, which, by the way, had a ton of errors. But, no matter what I did, the error would not go away.

So, I started something I should have done first: search the Internet for a solution. There were two promising sites. One promo on the search results page claimed if I download “SmartPC”, installed it, ran a scan, it would fix the problem for me if I clicked “Fix All”.

So, I did the first three things, but after the scan, I had to ‘register’ the program (BUY it). I said, “Hell, no.”

So, I checked out the other promising link. Well, that link DID fix the problem. If you are using Chrome, there are a couple of hidden pages you probably didn’t know existed. In the address bar in Chrome, enter chrome://plugins and a page will list all the plugins used by Chrome. The other page is chrome://conflicts.

There is also chrome://settings, by the way.

Anyway, the instructions said to look for more than one instance of Flash Player using the “plugins” page. Sure enough, there were two plugins of Flash Player, and the reason I was having all those crashes was because the two plugins couldn’t get along with each other. The directions go on to say “disable” the plugin that is in Chrome, not the one listed as in the system.

I did that, then called up the chrome://conflicts page again. If there is any software conflicting with Chrome, it will give you a count of how many there are and identify them. Luckily, there were no conflicts with my Chrome installation.

Then restart your computer.

Well, I’ve spent some time on the Internet going to pages where the crashes occurred, and so far—no crashes! I think I’ve finally got the problem whupped!

And I’m a little more educated about Chrome, too.

If you are having Flash Player crashes, I hope the procedure described above helps you eliminate that problem.

 

